Life Saving Tips and Quotation Devices…

9 12 2011

Or is that flotation devices?

In all seriousness, quotes and music are life savers in my studio some days.

Working for oneself in a studio by oneself is, sometimes, very difficult. Having music or an audiobook on at all times is a foregone conclusion. And regarding quotes? Well, my walls look a little like John Nash’s in A Beautiful Mind, except that rather than being covered with papers, my walls are covered with random drawings, notes on how to make things that I don’t often make, and, most importantly, inspirational quotes designed to kick my a** into work mode.

So I’m sharing a random assortment of quotes today mostly because I didn’t have anything else to say, and it’s much less emo in my opinion than posting poetry.

On Self-Employment:

“People always assume my hours are flexible because I’m self-employed. I tell them, ‘yes, yes they are. I get to pick whatever 80 a week I want.'” Author unknown.

“Technique is more important than inspiration, in other words, you can do it – extremely well – even when you’re not feeling it.” Roy Williams, the Wizard of Ads.

Regarding Artists:

“Artists Make Lousy Slaves.” Album title by Michelle Shocked

“The truly creative mind in any field is no more than this: A human creature born abnormally, inhumanely sensitive. To them… a touch is a blow, a sound is a noise, a misfortune is a tragedy, a joy is an ecstasy, a friend is a lover, a lover is a god, and failure is death.

Add to this cruelly delicate organism the overpowering necessity to create, create, create – so that without the creating of music or poetry or books or buildings or something of meaning, their very breath is cut off…

They must create, must pour out creation. By some strange, unknown, inward urgency they are not really alive unless they are creating.” Pearl Buck

On Living Life:

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” Mahatma Ghandi

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.” Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

“Shoot for the moon and if you miss you will still be among the stars.” Les Brown

I hope one or more of them speaks to you too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

