Yep. He Looks Thrilled.

5 12 2011

Guinness and I passed therapy dog training this past Wednesday night!


He had just woken up when I snapped this photo of him , so pardon the “We are not amused” expression on his face. And he gets bed ears… like the canine version of bed head, which is probably another reason as to why he’s looking at me in a rather disgruntled way.

We just have a stop at the vet this week so the vet can approve his paperwork, and then once we send in said papers and get them back, we’re official!

It’s pretty neat actually. When I first started the class, the trainers told me that he’d settle down (which was my biggest fear ’cause he’s kind of exuberant at times), and that a special harness would help him differentiate between therapy dog time and play time. They were right. It took a few sessions in Petsmart and at a local nursing home for the idea of “going to work” to settle in with him (and settle him down) but I think he’s got the idea. And I think I’ve got the idea too. After all, typically half of “dog training” is really a course on “how to train humans to speak dog.”

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 12 2011
constance

Guinness is one of the bestest, smartest dogs I’ve ever met. He owes alot of that to his sweet mama!

6 12 2011
M. Sotherden Art Glass

Thanks Constance!

26 12 2011
InQ "Piers mac Tavish" Laing

I learned recently from a radio show, that dogs actually prefer to work than be pets. I confirmed this when I approached a young lady in a grocery store who had a ‘working” dog. I asked her what the dog was for, and was told that it was a seizure alert dog. I told her about the radio show I had heard and the conclusion that dogs preferred to work over everything else. She confirmed this, and told me that her dog, in the middle of his play time, would get excited and come running to her, tail wagging, if she picked up his working harness. You may run across those that think that making a dog work is cruel an unusual punishment. This girl had confronted a few people who held that opinion. It made her appreciate ,me confirming her dog as a working dog, and seeing value in it.

I think what you are doing with Guinness is wonderful, and the greatest part is that you too will gain as much as the people Guinness visits 🙂

27 12 2011
M. Sotherden Art Glass

What an interesting concept – that the dogs actually enjoy it. Guinness is too smart to spend his whole life being a lapdog, and his unabashed and absolute joy at meeting ANYONE was what made me pursue therapy dog work to begin with…. but I am curious if there is a deeper joy to it for him than just meeting new people. I’ll have to keep watching his responses and figure out what he’s thinking about it. Do you remember the name of the program? I’d like to hunt it down and listen to it.

Leave a Reply

