Thanks for Influencing my Life.

18 06 2011

Tomorrow is Father’s Day.

Mother’s Day, of course, was last month. A good friend and I were talking about it over breakfast, in the context of “there are an awful lot of people who aren’t mothers, who may very well wish to be, but aren’t because of a circumstance or twist of fate, and there are an awful lot of women who have influenced our lives that aren’t our mothers, or necessarily even mothers at all.”

I think the same could be said for Father’s Day.

While I have a wonderful dad, there are an awful lot of men who have influenced my life for the better. Most of them aren’t fathers, but there is no social mechanism for congratulating them on a job well done.

So I guess that’s my bright and brilliant suggestion for tomorrow, born out of the thought of my friend Nancy, and our breakfast conversation: To hell with social conventions. If somebody with a Y chromosome influenced your life for the better, let them know tomorrow.

To the wonderful guys in my life, if your photo is up here, thank you for being in mine.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

