It’s in the DNA…

9 06 2011

Learning is important. Just ask any parent or teacher. I like learning, and I’m old-school (or paranoid) enough to think that there are a bevy of skills that one should know just “in case”.

In case the zombies come.

In case of rapture actually happening.

In case of fire, earthquake, tornado, flood, or any other type thing.

I’m pretty skilled in a lot of things that may help in the above-mentioned situations. I can spin my own yarn, weave my own fabric, sew my own clothes, fill any window opening with some sort of glass, cook a decently good-tasting and edible meal with any five ingredients you can pick (as long as I have access to a decent spice cabinet), use a chainsaw, a circular saw, a miter saw, a jigsaw, a sawzall, a glass saw, a band saw… you get the idea. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

The weirdest “skill” though (and I hesitate to call it a skill because that seems like a misnomer) is one that the universe sees fit to test me on from time to time. It’s called the “First on Scene” skill. And it’s in my DNA. (My mom has it too).

For some reason, every three years or so, I am inevitably the first on scene at some accident. Given that I work at Renaissance Festivals a lot of the year, I’m usually in garb. You can imagine how well that plays with the cops.

I’m okay with it. My job (since I have no formal training, other than I was once married to an EMT/volunteer firefighter) seems to be the one to call 9-1-1 or keep the people involved calm until the cavalry arrives.

I mention it because every time it comes up, I think to myself that I should enroll in a first responder class, or EMT class or something. Not because I’m interested in it, mind you, but because I think it would be a good skill to have in my possession. Learning this is one of the items on my own multi-columnar “Bucket List”. (As in: I want to learn everything on my list before I kick the bucket.)

No worries though. I’m putting little check marks next to items every so often, even if I’m currently batting zilch on the medical ones. And that’s my point really…what have you learned this week? How have you grown?

P.S. As an addendum, because people have been asking: The guy on the motorcycle who crashed into a post was drunk. He’s the only one I don’t know about, but since the EMT’s who arrived didn’t call life flight, I’m guessing he was patched up okay. The ambulance that was left in drive at one scene was put in park (by me) before it hit more people – no joke! The guy who flipped his car in the snow walked away shaken up but unhurt. The kid who ran his bike into the side of a van had a few broken bones, but was pretty lucid. Scared to death, but lucid. So yeah, happy endings so far.

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2011
Kris

If you really want, take a first responders course. The EMT basic course will go WAY more in depth than you need, unless you get a sudden urge to work at an ambulance company!
Thanks for the shout-out on the panel–I’m glad you liked it so much, and the bigger one you made is gorgeous! I hope this second one is as much fun!

Leave a Reply

